Our mission is to provide leadership and philanthropic support to Providence Saint John’s Health Center, John Wayne Cancer Institute and Pacific Neuroscience Institute, that serve as catalysts for exceptional health care and research.


Incorporated in 1975 as a separate tax-exempt 501(c)(3) corporation to advance the mission and goals of Saint John’s Health Center, the Saint John’s Heath Center Foundation is governed by an all volunteer board of directors and trustees, who bring their leadership skills to ensure that Saint John’s is here for their community – now and in the future.

Trustees work tirelessly with the foundation staff to vision, plan, initiate and maintain structured programs of support for the health center’s capital, equipment, programmatic needs, community outreach and to carry forward the health center’s mission of compassionate care.

When the Sisters of Charity of Leavenworth came west to build Saint John’s, generous neighbors helped these pioneering women purchase the land upon which Saint John’s Health Center campus stands. The Foundation grew out of the original Saint John’s Hospital Guild founded in 1947 to carry forward the mission of compassionate care set forth by the Sisters of Charity of Leavenworth. That mission is continued now through the healing ministry of Providence Health & Services.


The Foundation is the chief financial engine contributing to state-of-the-art facilities, equipment, technology, programs and services at the health center as well as ground-breaking cancer research at John Wayne Cancer Institute and Pacific Neuroscience Institute. Philanthropic efforts have successfully raised more than $817 million dollars, including $370 million dollars to rebuild the Health Center after the 1994 Northridge earthquake. Currently, the Power of Partnership Campaign is underway with a goal of raising $200 million to revolutionize clinical care, attract world-class physicians and researchers, and be at the forefront of leading-edge discoveries.

Great health care takes the added ingredient of philanthropy- which serves as a catalyst for researchers, doctors, and clinicians- to take us places we haven’t been before but we know is the right place to be going.” Bob Klein President and CEO, Saint John’s Health Center Foundation

Giving Staff

Mike Avila
Irene Bristol
Sara Butchenhart
Mary Byrnes
Anthony Cacace
Meghan Chereck
Tess Csiszar
Wafaa Daou
Pamela Davis Kuhr
Gail Drewniak
Esther Espinoza
Cookie Galanti
Coco Garcia
Ingrid Garcia
Jeanne Goldsmith
Natalie Jacob
Tobi Kinnan
Bob Klein
Kimberly Krupinski
Kathy Kuwabara
Dinah Lewin
Yoli Luna
Nina Maggio
Elizabeth McDonald
Wendy Merritt
Taylor Morton
Dan Otto
Danielle Partyka
Pam Solomon
Melissa Thrasher
Andy Trilling
Criss Wall-McCullough
Karen Williams-Cox
Susan Wilson
Marquina Munoz-Freedman, RN, BSN

Power of Partnership Campaign Committee

Rob Amonic, M.D.
Bill Apfelbaum
Lee Ault
Brad Freeman
Gloria Gebbia
Evelyn Guerboian
Martha Harper
Daniel Kelly, M.D.
Robert J. Lowe
Shelby Notkin
Steven O’Day, M.D.
Ernie Prudente, M.D.
Michael Ricks
John Robertson, M.D.
Donna Schweers
Laura Siart
Donna Tuttle
Michael Wise

Board of Trustees

Mary H. Flaherty, Chair
Robert Amonic, MD, Secretary
Craig C. Benell, Treasurer
Charles F. Adams
William S. Anderson
Robert L. Antin
William M. Apfelbaum
Rae W. Archibald, PhD
Maria O. Arechaederra
Margot S. Armbruster
J. Jeffrey Assaf
Lee A. Ault III
Donnalisa Parks Barnum
Ambassador Frank E. Baxter
Rudolph A. Bedford, MD
James P. Birdwell Jr.
Norris J. Bishton
Eric Borstein
Abbott L. Brown
Jules Buenabenta
Charles G. Cale
Rick J. Caruso
Jonathan R. Cole, MD
Jonathan L. Congdon
Cynthia S. Connolly
Richard F. Corlin, MD
Marian H. Craver
Michael W. Croft
Kathy Danhakl
George H. Davis Jr.
Mary Y. Davis
Kevin Ehrhart, MD
Marc Ezralow
Miles Fisher
Frances R. Flanagan
James H. Fordyce
Bradford M. Freeman
William M. Garland III
Risa L. Gertner
Kris Gibello
Allan B. Goldman
Jae Goodman
Glenn A. Gorlitsky, MD
Thomas F. Grojean
Peter V. Haight
H. Thomas Hicks
David L. Ho
Marcia Wilson Hobbs
Tonian Hohberg

Ambassador Glen Holden
Mark C. Holscher
John G. Huarte
Stanley Iezman
Steaven K. Jones Jr.
Paul R. Kanin
Mary Ellen Kanoff
Jordan L. Kaplan
Russ Kino, MD
Kathleen McCarthy Kostlan
Bernadette Leiweke
Judith D. Licklider
Robert J. Lowe
Carl W. McKinzie
Bruce A. Meyer
Carolyn B. Minchin
Peter W. Mullin
Paul D. Natterson, MD
Lee S. Neibart
Lisa D. Nesbitt
Chris Newman
Shelby Notkin
Dominic J. Ornato
Peter C.D. Pelikan, MD
Putter Pence
Jill Posnick
Dallas P. Price-Van Breda
Ernie L. Prudente, MD
Justin E. Rawlins
John M. Robertson, MD
Jeanne D. Robinson
William P. Rutledge
Daniel S. Sampson
Theodore H. Schneider
Carole Schwartz
Donna L. Schweers
Robert Shuwarger
Laura Siart
William E. Simon Jr.
Rosa K. Sinnott
Loraine Sinskey
Michael S. Sitrick
Charles F. Smith
Brent Stratton
James A. Thomas
Nadine E. Tilley
James J. Toth II
J. David Tracy
Stanley Trilling
Donna F. Tuttle

Bennet Van de Bunt
Roger Wacker
Patrick J. Wayne
Brian M. Webber
Edward White
Shannon M. Wickstrom
Gretchen A. Willison
Michael E. Wise
Brett G. Wyard


Sister Maureen Craig, SCL
Robert A. Day
Richard M. Ferry
William K. Hummer, MD
William S. Mortensen
Thomas P. Mullaney
Robert J. Wagner
Waldo H. Burnside
Robert T. Campion
A. Redmond Doms
J. Howard Edgerton
Jerry B. Epstein
James L. Hesburgh
Mrs. Earle M. Jorgensen
Glen McDaniel
Ruben F. Mettler, PhD
John H. Michel
Sister Marie
Madeleine Shonka, SCL
Flora L. Thornton


Erik G. Wexler, Chief Executive, Providence St. Joseph Health Southern California
Howard Chait, MD, President, Executive Committee of the Medical Staff, PSJHC
Robert O. Klein,
President & CEO, SJHCF
Michael Ricks,
Chief Executive, PSJHC
Janis Gallo, President,
Irene Dunne Guild